The. End.

Technically the end is tomorrow, but this will be my farewell to 2009 post. I wish that I could come up with this profound post that will put good thoughts in your heads and your hearts.

The truth is that life has been somewhat lackluster and dull here. No really. The most drama we’ve had here is having to deal with snot nosed teenagers and irresponsible dog owners. That and a cold from hell. I’ve been off balance with a headache, my jaw is tightened up by my TMJ, I have sneezing fits that make my throat sore…

You get the idea.

I’d like to say that the end of the year was wrapped up nice and neat like a gift under the Christmas tree, but the past week has been nothing more than a readjustment to being depressed, ill, and isolated with two children who are always bored.

But there has been good. Honestly.

Like the yummalicious yarn that I received from Sundara. (Even though I need to admit there has been little to no knitting lately. I seem to be on a self imposed break.)

Rogue has been getting bigger and healthier. She knows her “sit” and “stay” commands now. And she still likes to nibble.

And of course, I have plans for 2010. I don’t want to call them Resolutions, as the tradition would go. They are plans. Real plans.

  • I have joined the NaKniSweMoDo group on Ravelry. I plan on having twelve brand new sweaters this year. All handknit for me. (And one for Shawn.)
  • I am participating in round two of the 52 Books in 52 Weeks group on Ravelry. I was only able to crank out forty one books this year (my goal was forty eight). In 2010 my plan is to crank out forty five books. I’ll be starting with Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver.
  • I will be starting the Spring semester at College of the Canyons in February.
  • I plan on making me and Shawn a quilt. For us. Only us.
  • I plan on going to the 2010 Ravelry party at Unwind in January. (Last years party was awesome so I can only assume it will be even more so now that Namaste, Kristin Porter and the girls from Manos del Uruguay will be there.)
  • I plan on buying a bike. And using it.
  • I plan on customizing my first Blythe. Linkin and Celeste will stay stock, but Bailey is getting a full makeover.
  • I am going to start taking sewing classes again, hopefully starting in February.

So while so things are coming to an end, some things are going to be a new beginning. And even though the rest of my day is only going to consist of “Golden Girl” reruns, Campbell’s Bean and Bacon soup with some Saltines and finishing up “The Abstinence Teacher”, I can’t imagine a better way to end the year.

I hope to see you all here next year!

Til then, party one!

10 thoughts on “The. End.

  1. Happy new year! Great resolutions! You’ve given me some ideas!
    I’m reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle right now – it’s really good. One of my resolutions will definitely be to try to eat as locally as possible.

  2. Hello there Swap Match lady! I’m sorry that I haven’t contacted you sooner, I’ve been laid low sick for a few days and I let it fall the wayside.

    Can I just say, your dog (pit?) is gorgeous, absolutely stunning! I love the soulful look on her face. I just want to snorgle her tummy, which I’m sure is pink and lovable.

    I look forward to putting together your package, I’m off now to look for your swap answers to see what you’re into.

    Those are some inspiring goals, have a great New Year!

    Mystery Wool
    Sole Food Swap Spoiler

  3. I hope your 2010 started off on a well note.

    Those are some awesome goals. When I knit so much, reading gets put on a back burner (and vice versa). I wish I could fit it all in. Best of luck to you!

  4. Hope you’re feeling better by now? I love your 2010 plans! It’s going to be a fun year full of lots of learning and accomplishment. Can’t wait to see it all unfold on your blog.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a comment