Plethora

It’s not the word of the day, but it is how my life can be classified at the moment. A plethora of activity has been brewing at Casa de AJ.

It all started on Friday when I got really bored just sitting around watching summer reruns on the tube. I picked up some linen and wool and decided to make a sampler for the living room (it will go perfectly with my soon to be painted living room). I have to say that I’m really enjoying this freehand embroidery. I wish it hadn’t intimidated me so much before. Especially after I got a copy of Bags in Bloom. NowI have an itch to embroider everything.

Saturday I wasn’t so much bored as I was unoccupied for a while. So I decided that even though I’m still working on my Tea Leaves Cardigan and all I need is the second sleeve, I cast on for something new. (Part of the reason I stopped the sleeve is that my arthritis has been acting up when I work with DPN’s.)

So Norah Gaughan’s Eastlake Sweater it is.

{ Eastlake by Norah Gaughan in Woodland Gothic }

US 5 and 7 needles (smaller is for the ribbing)

Berroco Inca Gold in Azul Marina

And because I know how many of my dear blogging buddies love cookies I thought I’d share with you my new creation.

{ Triple Chocolate Chip Chocolate Chip Cookies }

1/2 C. Margarine

1/2 C. Sweet Cream Butter

1/2 C. Granulated Sugar

3/4 C. Brown Sugar

1 Egg

3 tsp. Cocoa Powder

2 C. sifted Flour

1 tsp. Baking Soda

1/4 tsp. Salt

1 C. White Chocolate Chips

2 C. Semisweet Chocolate Chips

Cream butters. Add granulated sugar and brown sugar until mixture is smooth (about two minutes on low if you use a Kitchen Aid mixer). Add cocoa powder and egg until both are incorporated. Slowly mix in dry ingredients. Mix in chocolate chips until the batter is thick.

Bake in oven at 350 degrees for 12-13 minutes. Yields approximately 4 dozen cookies depending on how you spoon them. (I use a melon baller.)

2 thoughts on “Plethora

  1. Don’t you love Norah G? I have to wrap it up and mail it but I made a shrug that ties around and around for my DDIL and the construction is so supremely genius. (See my Ravelry project page for Embrace.) I hope DDIL fits it right — she might still be nursing but that shouldn’t be a problem since that aspect is adjustable. The armholes are not, however.

Leave a Reply

