Recipe Repeat

Thursday I was having a bout of depression and decided to stay home and just veg out on the couch while my mom took care of Scout and Rogue. I wrapped myself up in a blanket and took a nap while “Scooby Doo” played in the background. I didn’t have to do the dishes. And when I had a little spurt of energy I’d check out people’s blogs. And one such blog is Holli. Now, mind you, this isn’t her recipe but she’s an excellent knitter and she does link us to some great recipes one in a while. Such as…

{Blueberry Crumble by Smitten Kitchen}

Ingredients:

1 Cup granulated sugar

1 tsp baking powder

3 Cups flour

1 Cup cold unsalted butter (I ran out and used butter and margarine)

1 egg

1/4 tsp salt

zest and juice of one lemon

4 Cups fresh blueberries (you can use frozen)

1/2 Cup granulated sugar

4 tsp corn starch

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9 x 13 pan.

2. In large bowl, mix the 1 Cup sugar, flour, and baking powder. Add lemon zest and salt. Using a pastry cutter, a fork or your fingers mix in the egg and the butter. (I cheated and used my Kitchen Aid mixer, made it all the more easy.) Dough will be crumbly. Take 1/2 the dough and pat it in to the greased pan. Reserve the other half.

3. In another bowl stir together the 1/2 Cup sugar, cornstarch, lemon juice, and blueberries. Sprinkle this mix onto the dough. Top the dish with the remaining dough.

4. Bake in preheated over for 45 minutes (it only took me about 40 minutes to bake) or until top is golden brown. Let cool completely before slicing.

{Bon Appetite!}

3 thoughts on “Recipe Repeat

Leave a Reply

