30 Days of Happiness

Over at Erin’s blog she started a Thirty Days of Happiness theme. I wanted to follow suit because the past few days, and I’m sure the days to come, have been and will be emotionally rough.

Inside I’ve felt anger, hopelessness, sadness, guilt and fear. Dalton’s death is still too new. Sometimes I coast through the day and I don’t give him a thought. But then I look under the coffee table as I sit on the couch to knit. He isn’t under there swatting his tail, left, right, left, right. I expect him to be sitting on the balcony soaking in the setting sun. But then I open the door and there’s nothing there but stucco and an empty herbal pot.

I need to dig down and find some happiness. I can not let his death consume me. I know that he wouldn’t want it that way. So I’m going to buckle down. I’m going to live 30 days of happiness.

The pictures all represent some type of happiness I have in my life, this minute.

It’s the end of the Summer.

I’ve been sketching and drawing in my spare time. Shawn bought me a new book and Derwent pencils, (my absolute fave).

I’ve been knitting the Rhiannon socks, but truth be told it will be slow knitting. (How hard does a sock have to be? Try knitting four charts at the same time. Mind you, they don’t all have the same row count.)

I also picked up a copy of Ysolda Teague’s new pattern from Twist Collective: the beautiful Vine Yoke Cardigan. I’m using some Cascade Ecological Wool that I had in my stash and already I’m quite pleased. I am thinking I might have someone make me some special buttons to compliment my new sweater.

And I have to say I’ve been doing quite a bit of reading. I think it’s suffice to say that it will be keeping me quite busy next week. The low down: I was born with club foot and had corrective surgery when I was a day old. Then when I was sixteen I jumped down off a fence and landed so hard on my right foot that it broke. Then I broke it again, playing softball, in 2003. The second time it didn’t heal and for the past six years I’ve had a lot of swelling, numbness and pain. I found a Dr. who can reconstruct my ankle and foot. It’s going to require a 3-5 hour surgery. A few days in the hospital. Crutches. And a lot of books. A whole lot of books to get me through 5 months in a cast/walking boot.

Any suggestions?

9 thoughts on “30 Days of Happiness

  1. You draw too? Amazing!!!! I just started that same cardigan tonight. I’m glad you showed the picture because I was doubting I was doing it correctly. I like the idea of looking for the good. All too often we tend to just gripe about what’s wrong. Nicely done!

  2. Sorry you need your ankle reconstructed but glad you found an orthopeadist who can do the work. Advice #1 – if you live near a public library start checking out recorded books so you can knit while you listen. Thru the public library I also have access to downloadable books thru NetLibrary. They can be downloaded to my computer or to an Ipod. Somehow, the books disappear after 3 weeks. These recorded books helped to keep me from getting too restless after my last 3 joint replacements.

    Now, advice #2, suggested authors. I started with lightweight books
    *The Mitford series by Jan Karon. There are 5 -6 in this series
    *The Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich. Try to read in order. Pure absurdity. I also enjoyed some of her non-Stephanie Plum books
    *The Amelia Peabody series by Elizabeth Peters. Peabody is a British aristocratic Egyptologist in late 19th, early 20th century.
    *Books by Lisa Scottoline – legal thrillers Most of the characters seem to be people I would find interesting in real life
    *The Elm Creek Quilters series by Jennifer Chiaverini
    *The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. Try to read in order. These books are a bit of a commitment to read because each one is over 600 pages. This is a historical romance series, so they a bit bodice-ripperish, if that makes a difference to you.
    *Any book by Taylor Caldwell. Historical fiction, Well researched & well written

    For non-fiction
    Mountains Beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder
    Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin
    A Short History of Islam by Karen Armstrong

    Hope that you find something in this list that you haven’t read and might find interesting. Good luck with the surgery.

    PS – I agree with Kim’s comment about your drawing skills. also, Hope you have fun looking for the positive.

  3. Hi, I am so sorry to hear about Dalton. I understand how you feel; we had to put down our little pet bunny the other day. It was really sad, but it had to be done to end her suffering. I really hope you can get past this…I think spending more time with family helps.
    Also, YAY that you can get your foot fixed! And a few days in the hospital on painkillers…sounds like prime knitting time to me, although it might have to be something simple. Last time I tried to knit on painkillers it came out all wonky 🙂

  4. Sorry to hear about losing your Dalton. And your ankle…ouch! Surrounding yourself with people and things that make you happy is the best way to recover. Great sketches by the way.

  5. Wow you can draw also? You are very good. I think you are on the right track. Lots of books and knitting and drawing. And lots of hugs from your kids. You will be up and around before you know it.

  6. Even though it’ll take a long time for your grief to lessen over Dalton, I’m glad that you are trying to find things that will make you happy. I hope the surgery goes well. Are you on Goodreads.com? Come and join and friend me there! 🙂

  7. I’m so glad to hear that you chose happiness! and you draw some pretty happy and amazing characters – hope that helps you find your way out of the sadness. I wish you all the best with the surgery. Have you read any books by Anne Tyler? they are all great but I’d begin with Saint Maybe or Ladder of Years or Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant – really they are all great! take care.

  8. What a great post. I’m sorry to hear about your ankle – sounds painful. I’m a reader and have many recommendations. My blog has a list of my top ten for the past couple of years (in the side bar)…along with the ones I’ve read so far this year. I’ll give you a few of my all time favorites:

    My Name is Asher Lev, Chaim Potok
    Pavilion of Women, Pearl S. Buck
    The Year of Magical Thinking, Joan Didion
    Watership Down, Richard Adams
    The Giver, Lois Lowry
    Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress, Dai Sijie
    Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, Louis de Bernières
    Me Talk Pretty One Day, David Sedaris

    Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

