Little Bit of This, Little Bit of That

Summer is winding down, though I admit that the heat seems like it’s found a permanent home. We had one lovely day that stayed in the 80’s – unbelievable! Unfortunately it was a fluke and we are back in the triple digits. So you know what that means. Swimming, sweet ice tea, homemade ice cream. Anything to lower the temps. Even if only by one degree.

I’ve been spending quite a bit of time getting ready for Christmas. You heard me right. Christmas. I decided that I wanted to make an Advent calendar, (similar to Leslie’s), for decorative purposes only.

AdventHats2

Currently I have ten hats knit. Two more to go. And then I can knit the dozen mini mittens. I’m using non snobby yarn too. Can you believe it? I was perusing Beverly’s when I found that Red Heart is now trying to be environmentally friendly. I picked up four skeins of their Eco Ways yarn and I have to say that I’m very impressed. Acrylic yarn has come far.

In the midst of all this mini hat making I decided I needed another project to sustain me. Not only do I need to finish the hats and mittens but I will need to make pom-poms, (not my favorite thing to do), attach them to the hats, and embroider numbers on each one. Twenty four of them.

So I cast on a pair of mittens. With this.

LLEcho

One beautifully soft and sumptuous skein of Lorna’s Laces Green Line Worsted in Echo. This yarn is perfect for a pair of winter mittens. I’m already half done so I’ll post pictures of them in a day or two.

Not much else crafting is going on here. I’ve spent a few days, (and nights), in the kitchen. I made another batch of strawberry jam. You never can have too much. I also baked a couple loaves of banana bread. I had to do something with the brown, nearly decaying, bananas sitting in the basket. And last night I experimented with making some Butter Pecan Ice Cream but I have to admit it was a major fail. I made it according to the recipe not realizing that I had to let the mixture cool completely before putting into the mixing bowl to let the KitchenAid do it’s thing. I’m going to try again tonight. This time there better be success. Otherwise I’m going to have to break down and buy some Dreyer’s.

4 thoughts on “Little Bit of This, Little Bit of That

  1. AJ,
    We are partners for the Fall Swap hosted by Lori. Judging from what you have posted, I have a very, very talented partner…and that excites me!!! Please email so we can get to know each other.

  2. I love the advent calendar! Good for you, giving it a go — someday I’ll be up for it. And best of luck with you second ice cream attempt — triple digits? You certainly deserve that ice cream 🙂

Leave a Reply

