Log Cabin

Yesterday it was eerily quiet while Scout was taking a nap. I brought out some fat quarters that I had stashed in the linen closet and decided to take the plunge and try my hand at making a log cabin quilt block. Surprisingly, (to me), it was fairly simple. It’s a matter of order.

logcabin2

I used Eleanor Burns’ tutorial from Quilt in Day Log Cabin book that I bought this past summer. I really liked the step by step instructions, they were very easy to understand and follow.

logcabinhearth

I also bought the center, (hearth), fabric that day as well. It’s a Michael Miller reproduction.

But my favorite fabric is the one with the little birds.

logcabin

Now what to do with this one block? I have yet to decide. I’m thinking I’d like to make a little wall hanging. Or maybe I’ll enhance my stash and make a bunch of little log cabins for a blanket. It might be my first log cabin but it’s certainly not my last.

Happy Saturday.

4 thoughts on “Log Cabin

Leave a Reply

