Project Overload

I don’t know if it’s because the holidays are approaching so fastly but I feel like one of Santa’s not so little elves. There are stocking, advent calendars, ornaments. There will be candy making, Chex mix making, cookies to bake. There are turkey dinners with all the trimmings, pumpkin pies, dishes to clean. There are gifts to buy, packages to wrap, birthday cake to make. There is a never ending list of things to do that normally would get me depressed and lazy. I’d leave things to the last minute. Nevermind anything handmade.

But this year is somehow different. Maybe it’s because Scout is two and it’s time for the magic of the holidays to come and make her eyes shine with delight. Or maybe I’m finally ahead of the game and not as stressed as I normally would be if I left things to the last minute.

With each new ornament I’m inspired to make something new. In fact after making the gingerbread men using a cookie cutter as a template I realized I had another perfect cookie cutter that I could use. A Heart.

embroidered-hearts

I made a blue and a red heart but I liked them so much that I want to do green, yellow and white. I’ll work on those this weekend.

Then last night I got an itch and decided to scratch it.

I decided to work on a double pointed needle cozy because my needles are everywhere they shouldn’t be.

dpn-roll-up

I used Sandi Henderson’s Farmers Market line. I love the green apples and I love the red apples.

dpn-roll-up-2

There was a lot of crafting last night. And there will be a lot today. In fact, I’m off to take a beading class in about 30 minutes. Four and a half hours of no children. Four and a half hours of counting tiny size 15 beads. Four and a half hours of a beautiful bracelet.

Oh yeah, I’m on overload and I’m loving every minute of it!

One thought on “Project Overload

Leave a Reply

