Home for the Holidays

Excuse my absence. It’s hard to believe that I haven’t blogged in two weeks, but it’s true. I have been spending my time getting well, both physically and mentally. I went to the hospital due to exhaustion and a long, drawn out bout of depression. I am home now, but not 100%. I’m taking some new meds as an experiment since the Dr. doesn’t know why I’m having certain symptoms after so many years. Needless to say I’m glad to be home but it all seems so foreign to me. I’m anxious and I feel overwhelmed but I’m getting through this. Slowly. Very slowly.

Since being home I haven’t spent any time on the computer. A message here and there. I feel less overwhelmed. There’s something about the internet that is often too stimulating. Maybe it’s all the information that can be accessed with a few keystrokes. Truth be told, though, I’ve missed blogging. I’ve missed reading about the lives that I’ve so closely followed the past few years. I’m dipping my toes in the information highway, though not completely. Baby steps.

So what have I been doing with my “free” time?

btrsbinding21

I’ve been hand sewing the binding onto the Easy Lap Quilt.

adventcalendar

I’ve been trying my hand at hand sewing and embroidery, totally not my forte, but I have to say that I’m really enjoying it. Especially since I haven’t knit in a week. Plus, I had to get started on the package for my Backtack partner. I’ll post more once it gets closer to the sending date. She might be peeking!

scoutstocking

I’ve spent some time making funky, ecclectic Christmas stockings. This is just a hint because I’ve decided to make a few more, in different colors, and add them to the shop in about two weeks. This particular one is for Scout. Originally my mom was supposed to have made one for Scout. But when Scout was born she didn’t have time to make it in 4 days. (She handsews hers and does a lot of blanket stitching.) Last year I couldn’t motivate her to get it done. This year I asked her to start working on it, in July! Instead, I chose to make it myself last year and I really like it. It’s different and eco friendly, (felt has come a long way in the past 20 years).

mburchin

There’s been some package opening too. I finally got my greedy little paws on some Mama Blue yarns. I traded my Sundara Deadly Nightshade, (it was too plum purple), and received a skein of Urchin in exchange.

I was also lucky enough to get my hands on a skein of Troika sock in Trifle:

mamabluetrifle

I did a little early birthday shopping, (for myself), and picked up a yarn swift and ball winder which I am in ♥ with. Three lovely skeins of Socks that Rock lightweight yarns. A bit of fabric, (I don’t dare say how much). I also had my  hair done so I could donate it to Locks of Love. They were able to get 10 1/2″ and leave me a little!

haircut1

Sorry for the crappy picture, but if I had the boys do it they’d get a most disgusting shot of that extra skin that seems to have found a home under my chin/neck. The joys of getting old. Fifteen more days and I turn 28 years old. Lately I’ve spent a lot of time wondering how those years went so quick when I have memories that are so vivid that it seems like it was 20 years ago all over again.

Instead of saying I’m 28 I’m going to say that I’m 21 for the 7th time.

6 thoughts on “Home for the Holidays

  1. Pingback: 49

Leave a Reply

