Food for Thought

For some unknown reason Fridays seem to the most thoughtful of days. I suppose it’s looking into the near future and preparing for the weekend. All the things we can accomplish! Most of my thoughts lately have been geared to simple living and home life. And I’ve been thinking of how old I feel. Yes, I know 27. Not so old. But 28 is right around the corner and last week I found my first gray hair. Absolutely silly and yet I feel like I’m 87, not 27. I think back to elementary school and sometimes I can remember days clearly. I think to myself, “That was 20 years ago”. Twenty. It doesn’t seem like much when you think of it as a quantity. But with age, it seems like it’s been an eternity.

I’m thinking of the present and the future. All the things I want to do, all the things I want to try. It’s only been a week of this simple living theory and it feels great. I feel rejuvenated. I haven’t been watching much television, though I did queue up the classic movies and watched “Five Will Live” with Lucille Ball and “Gaslight” with Ingrid Bergman last night. I’m reading books and obtaining a completely new education. No one taught be how to be wise with my money, how to raise a toddler or how to make a pie crust. Every day I learn something new.

And I have to say that I learn so much from Flickr. There is an abundance of life being lived out there. A lot of life to be lived in our house.

Friday 10/17

A lot of randomness. I just happen to be a very random person.

******************************************************************************************************************

1. Follow the instructions every time.
2. My hair iron is something I always take with me on vacation.
3. To achieve your goals, you must be willing to compromise.
4. I am different is something I’d like you to know about me.
5. I have a  slight Blythe obsession.
6. Root beer floats.
7. And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to a Turner Classic Movie night, tomorrow my plans include a picnic at the park and Sunday, I want to get my butt in gear!

5 thoughts on “Food for Thought

  1. So funny (well not really) but when I turned 28 last year I had this nervous breakdown in a co-worker’s office (he’s 25). Now I think that it is funny but I was feeling very old when it happened (!).

  2. You’ve got LOADS of time. I turned 36 this year – 40 is ever closer. But I wouldn’t live through my 20s again if someone gave me all the money in the world! The 30s are so much better (at least for me)!

  3. A song once said that age is just a number….I am in agreement. I will be 47 on my next birthday. I have survived getting gray hair at 27 and two girls….not to mention two ex’s. You, are an amazing young woman with an old soul. Let the books teach you their magic. I love all the new things that you are discovering and sharing with us! Old movies and old books are classics that you will never outgrow! Enjoy them and the park!

Leave a Reply

