Feelin’ a little chili today

Surprisingly the weather is cooling down, (though we expect to have a warmer weekend, much to my dismay), and I’ve been breaking out the soups and stews this week. This week alone I made a batch of Baked Potato and Cheese Soup, (about one serving worth of leftovers), 3 Cheese Tortellini Vegetable soup, (there were about 6 servings worth of leftovers and I ate about 5 of those), Navy Bean and Ham soup, (there was about 3 servings worth leftover), and last night I decided to quench my chili loving appetite. I have to say that I think this was probably the best of all the chili’s I’ve ever made. There’s only a few spoonfuls left.

Not only does it taste great, but it’s very hearty and filling.

Oh, and it looks good too!

I want to say that I’m 100% sure that I’ve posted this recipe before, but then again I can’t be that positive. So I’ll share it with you now as long as you all assure me that you won’t go sell the recipe to some high end restaurant or sell it under your own name. Yeah, it’s that good.

Kidney Bean Chili

1 lb. ground beef, (I always use the least amount of fat content I can get my hands on)

48 ounces of canned/drained/rinsed dark red kidney beans

36 ounces of canned tomatoes, (normally I use one can of Fire Roasted tomotoes, 1 can of stewed tomatoes and 1 can of petite diced tomatoes)

8 ounce can of tomato sauce

1/4 c sugar

1 sweet yellow onion, chopped

1-2 green pepper, cut into large pieces

2-3 TB Gebhardt’s Chili powder

1 TB cumin

2 cloves of garlic, whole

1 whole jalapeño, diced with seeds retained

hot sauce

salt and pepper

On medium heat brown ground beef. When meat is completely browned add in onion and garlic. Let heat for about 5 minutes or until the onions are tender. Meanwhile, drain and rinse the kidney beans well. Add to the mixture the beans and the tomatoes, (including sauce). Stir in the green peppers. Add remaining ingredients.

(Normally I add in about 2 TB of Crystal hot sauce but you can use any time of hot sauce. If you don’t like heat in your chili you can omit the hot sauce, jalapeños and cumin. These three together will bring a lot of heat and spice.)

Let the pot of chili cook on low to medium heat for 30-45 minutes. The longer it’s cooking the better it will taste, or so my mother says.

Top with cheddar cheese and sour cream.

Definitely one of our favorites to make especially when it’s made right. Sometimes you never know. I’ve tweaked this recipe over the years and I think I finally got it 110% right!

***************************************************************************

Friday Fill In

1. I enjoy taking naps with Scout.

2.  How people afford to live is something I wonder about often lately.

3. In your heart, you knew I wouldn’t be going back to Chicago for a very long time.

4. Take sugar, add a little water and you end up with Kool Aid.

5. Life has gifted me with a kitten that is really 1/2 ferret and 1/2 monkey.

6. A bubble bath is an instant vacation.

7. And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to my PJ party, tomorrow my plans include relaxing around the house and Sunday, I want to have breakfast in bed!

Leave a Reply

