Project Overload

Somehow I’ve overextended myself, in more ways than one. I have binding to make and to attach. I have recipes to collect and organize. I have 4 custom Etsy orders for a quilt, a scrapbook, a Pearl Buck Swing Jacket, and a Siamese Knit Kitten. I have Christmas presents to start for the family. I have a hat I need to knit for a little swap I am in. I have to finish the final touches on my first knit design. The list goes on as you well know because I’m never content with just one thing on my “to do” list.

The weekend slipped by with a lot of cleaning. Kitchen floors. Bathroom floors. Cleaning the baseboards. Replacing a bedroom door. Loads of laundry. The only real break I had was when Shawn took us to the Aquarium of the Pacific on Sunday night. Somehow watching otters give themselves baths, Lorikeet’s chirping, petting stingrays and sharks and watching seals roll around in the deep water was somewhat soothing.

That’s what I want to do. Looks relaxing, doesn’t it?

However I just don’t have the time. I often feel like the White Rabbit, “I’m late, I’m late, for a very important date. No time to say hello, goodbye, I’m late, I’m late, I’m late”. The days have literally melted together. Tuesday feels just like Monday. Monday felt like Sunday. It’s a vicious cycle and it will only get worse with the upcoming holidays and school year. Though, you see, school has already started here in Santa Clarita. But Jem isn’t in school. We’ve decided to home school due to the ineptitude of the school district he’d been enrolled in for the past two years. Why take this upon myself? Well, I’m a college graduate. There’s nothing I can’t teach him, (save for algebra). So our school year will start the second week of September. I’ll let you know how I feel about  it the third week of September.

A lot of preparations are taking place. I’ve tried with all of my might to get my CPH done and last night I did it. Oh yeah, I did it alright. I tried the sweater on and realized not picking up as many stitches around the sides and the hood didn’t work in my favor! Why must I defy the rules? I blame my childhood. Nevertheless, I cut, (yes, CUT, as in with a pair of scissors), the ribbing off and started again. No matter what I will have pictures for you tomorrow. If I have to forego making dinner and taking the cat to the Vet, (which of course I won’t do, but this is just for dramatic effect), I will have my CPH done for tomorrow. No matter that the weather has been in the low 100’s. No matter that I don’t really need a sweater in the summer months.

After finishing the ribbing I thought to myself, “Now that that’s done I should probably start on Pearl Buck considering she needs to be done by next month”. Of course, I hadn’t tried on the CPH yet. After that my thoughts stayed on the lines of something you might here from a Dr. Dre song. But I decided to cast on anyway. I might as well make a little headway. And this gives me a good idea of how I will like the jacket because she is queued on my Ravelry list. The woman I am making this for sent me the yarn and I have to say that I really like the feel of Berroco Ultra Alpaca. It’s almost like a fingering weight version of the Berroco Peruvia I used for the Tilted Duster. I like the color choice too:

Very lovely shade of a mossy green.

And just to show you that all of my projects haven’t stopped me from yarn collecting:

Dream In Color’s Classy Dusky Aurora. Like everyone else with a beautiful little girl I jumped on the Tulip Cardigan bandwagon. But unlike everyone else I am not doing the rainbow color scheme. I am going to use this bluish purplish greenish color with a lighter blue or green. I haven’t decided which one yet. But soon Scout will have another pretty little sweater to add to her collection.

I’ve also made a little bit of progress on a new altering book project I’m creating. I saw the book package at Beverly’s and since I’ve always loved 7gypsie’s projects I picked one up, (using my 40% off of course). Progress is quite slow because I haven’t 100% decided on everything I’ll be adding. That’s the beauty of my work, I believe. Everyone asks me how I do it. Simple, I don’t have a plan. I never planned my scrapbook pages for and I think that’s what helped to take the pressure off. Who wants to be pressured into working on a craft? This should be fun. Glue sticking, pen marking, trash bin full of fun.

That’s just the cover. And it’s the only sneak peek I will be giving until the book is complete. It’s a mish mash of ephemera. Buttons, brads, glitter, stitching, lettering, tags, inking, tearing…every component you can think of. I like my work to be unique and I think that I’ve achieved it. I’m excited about the pages I will be adding. It will take time. I don’t scrapbook/alter as much as I used to. But in the end it will be worth it.

I like to think that in the end everything I do will be worth it.

3 thoughts on “Project Overload

  1. Wow, I’m exhausted just reading your to-do list! I find myself overwhelmed lately by people who keep asking me to make things for them. I barely have time for my own projects. But I have problems with saying no. It will be fun to see how all of your many projects come together.

Leave a Reply

