Pizza, Pizza

I guess I’ve been on a cooking/baking kick lately. I’m diligently trying to make our family more healthy with fruits and veggies. More homemade foods rather than processed box foods and frozen foods packed with bad calories and sodium. I’m happy to say that I’ve seen a big difference. Shawn has given up drinking sodas and now takes his water thermos and flavored waters. We’ve all been eating more seasonal fruits. I made my own strawberry jam, (which I now realize I forgot to post about), and will be making apple butter very soon. I’ve been trying hard not to waste foods, especially leftovers. And you know what? It feels good.

Doing all of this along with my daily, (sometimes not), 1 mile walks, I feel better. The hysterectomy has done wonders for me mentally as well. I can safely say I haven’t experienced any lows since the surgery. Was this my miracle cure? I don’t know. But I’m taking advantage of the good feelings and trying harder than ever to keep my moods balanced.

The baking and cooking has helped. I love being in the kitchen, but for the dishes. I love creating new dishes. And I love the praise from Shawn and Jem when I have a new dish to add to our ongoing list of “What’s for dinner”. Today I made myself a little treat: Homemade Pizza. I thought I’d share the recipe in case any health conscious, (or people with tight budgets), wanted to try it for themselves.

Homemade Pizza Dough:

In a small bowl mix together:

3/4 C Warm water, (must be warm)

1 tsp Honey

1 TB + 1 tsp Active dry yeast

Let sit for 20 minutes, the ingredients will become foamy.

In a large bowl mix together:

1 1/2 C Flour

1/2 C Semolina or Corn Meal

1 tsp Salt

Once yeast is ready, mix all the ingredients together. By hand, mix for 4 minutes. By food processor, mix for 2 minutes. Let sit in a bowl with a wet paper towel covering it for 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Divide dough. On board, or clean counter, dust with flour or corn meal. Roll out dough to 5 1/2″ circles. Coat with olive oil and bake for 3-5 minutes or until bubbly.

Add pizza sauce, toppings and cheese. Bake for additional 10 minutes.

I’ve used this recipe and put our pizzas on the grill and they are delicious! If you choose to use the grill spray some cooking spray, (like PAM), on the grill so that pizzas won’t stick.

****

Friday Fill In, (yes I’ve joined the bandwagon thanks to Maryanne.

1. The last meal I had at a restaurant was a salad buffet at Souplantation.

2. Insects is something I intensely dislike.

3. The full moon brings out the crazies!

4. DGAF is one of my favorite local expressions.

5. Sometimes it’s best to leave the dishes.

6. “Juno” is the best movie I’ve seen so far this year!

7. And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to knitting, tomorrow my plans include sleeping in and Sunday, I want to go swimming!

3 thoughts on “Pizza, Pizza

Leave a Reply

