Terrible Tuesday

It’s been a long Tuesday.

I can’t seem to shake this feeling of ickiness. My head still hurts, though more like cluster or tension headaches as compared to the immobilizing headache known as a migraine. By afternoon my stomach feels like I’ve been on a 100 story top to bottom roller coaster. My stomach feels sour. I’m not sure what’s going on. It’s not the only time, but it has me thinking that there’s something more serious than just headaches and vertigo. I really don’t know how to describe it, but I will be delving into finding a GP to diagnosis whatever the hell is going on. I just can’t handle feeling this way. I just feel weird. That’s really the only adjective that I can think of that fits. Weird.

On the up side, I have a finished object which always makes me feel good, if not better.

The Shalom Cardigan is all done, but for the button. I was quite happy to get those last 8 garter stitch rows done. Not that this took long, less than a week in fact. But I had a deadline to have this out by Jem’s 10th birthday on Sunday and I was successful. So I’ll add a button. Wrap it up in tissue paper and string. And say goodbye.

Overall I’m happy with the pattern. As I mentioned before I’m a little disheartened that the pattern only has one sizing. Not that it would be difficult to modify. Even just adding 10 stitches to the yoke and decreasing to the appropriate shaping would easily make this a wardrobe staple. But for now I have a few unfinished items and Juliet to keep my yarn and my hands busy. Though, I haven’t figured out what yarn I want to use. I know a number of people have used Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece double stranded, but I am hesitant because I’ve never used the yarn, (actually, I’ve never seen it in person), and it reminds me too much of the scratchy acrylics I’ve come to despise. (I’m an uber yarn snob.) I did a Ravelry check and there seems to be an abundant number of knitters, (and crocheters, Jody), who have this stashed or used it for clothing. Do the numbers lie? We shall see. It’s between the cotton fleece or Uruguay Chunky from the Queensland Collection. (I just learned of a 60-70% sale on bags of 10 which would be the right yardage for my size, do I dare?)

Not too much else has been going on. Jem started summer school, (yay!). Is it bad that I over appreciate summer school? I’ve read a number of blogs where the author and their children are having a pleasantly slow summer swimming, baking, reading, and other activities. But here I am. Happy to have me and Scout time. Happy that Jem is away. It’s for his own good though. Not just academically but socially as well. He gets out of the house, gets his energy out and then we go from there. And because I don’t believe every moment of time needs to be filled. Summers are meant to be enjoyed. So mainly it’s been a lot of swimming. It’s almost too hot to go out most days, (though today is reasonably cooler, in the low 90’s). I have plans for a trip to the zoo and the beach. Plus I want us to make more ice cream and if you check out Heather Bailey’s Strawberry Pretzel Dessert you can see why. And Shawn and I have been discussing an overnight camping trip. But since we don’t have 24/7 entertainment aboard Princess AJ cruises we will have to be content to do nothing. Which sometimes I think what summer should be.

Scout seems to think so too. Life should be about laughter and fun, not just filling time.

Sometimes it’s a bit difficult to capture, but when you do you know it’s been worth it. (Especially when you see Scout dance to Fall Out Boy’s rendition to “Beat It”. Classic!)

8 thoughts on “Terrible Tuesday

  1. Oh, geez, that sounds awful. I hope you’re feeling better soon and get to the bottom of it. Sometimes the non-descript symptoms are the worst to deal with.

    The Shalom looks very cute, not to mention the adorable picture of Scout.

  2. i so wish you felt better. it’s amazing that you manage to accomplish so much knitting, and tend to the kids and hubby while laboring with so much headache pain and attendant symptoms. hope your GP gets something worked our for you soon, so that you can know relief and relaxation.

  3. I do not know if it works but it is worth trying…your headache may not ache as much if you set your eyes on Milk Protein Fibre Yarn! sounds scrumptious but use it for knitting not for drinking… I came across a portuguese yarn company called http://www.rosarios4 , they have the most amazing yarns.
    Recently they have launched eco friendly yarns naturally dyed. Check them out!

  4. oh gosh…..hope you are on the mends.
    your shalom cardigan is adorable! i am sure something that will be worn often.
    enjoy your summer. anyway you like. 🙂

  5. I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been feeling “weird” 😦 I hope you can find out the cause soon and get it taken care of. Take good care of yourself!

    Oh & your sweater is gorgeous 🙂

Leave a Reply

