OTN – On the Needles

It’s about time I took some inventory of what the h-e-double hockey sticks I’m doing. I forget sometimes that not everyone is on Ravelry, (could it be?). And I realize that I have been jumping from one hobby to the next on here. But don’t ever forget that knitting is my true love. I ♥ knitting. And truth be told I am making progress but I can only show you the same progress photos, add a row or three, so often.

My Ribs and Lace Tank is close to being done. I’m still decreasing for the armhole and in a few rows I’ll be ready to do the bust descreases. I’m excited that this will be ready to wear for the summer though the Aurora 8 may not have been the best summer yarn to use. While it has created a heavy fabric, I don’t mind. I think it will wear well for the warm weather and for the slightly cooler weather come September and October. (It’s ridiculous, but I wish that it was Autumn already. I can’t wait for the cool breezes and the changes of colors.)

As you can see, I’m on the ribbing. It’s a bit tedious on 4’s, but that’s obviously what makes the bodice more fitted.

And a sneak peek to the test knit I’m knitting in Noro Kureyon:

I love the colors. And the yarn isn’t half bad. It’s not incredibly smooth like butter yarn. But it’s not like working with steel wool either. I’m excited to be a part of the test knitting process. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do, along with my own designing which right now is on the back burner because of all the projects I’ve been working on lately. One day I’ll get to post asking for people to test knit my designs and that prospect is very exciting.

I started Helena late Saturday night and have finished the bodice and am starting the lace patterned skirt. I don’t have pictures unfortunately. Give it a day or two and it will be finished I’m sure. It’s a quick and easy knit. Instant gratification. And a cute knit for Scout to boot. Two for two.

Today I will start the Shalom Cardigan using Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Chunky in a dark charcoal gray. It looks like this will be a quick knit also, using chunky yarn and 11 needles. Can’t beat that right? Hopefully the pattern proves to be 100% the model shot because I’d love to make one for myself too.

My Bed Jacket, Monkey socks, and Chevron scarf are all in the works though they are sitting on the right side of the couch awaiting their turn. I’ve found that I need to rotate my projects for a few reasons. One is to avoid boredom, (ribbing on 4’s is not what I consider “fun”), and two, because of my arthritis. Some days are better than others but I find that switching from small to large needles really helps.

So, yes I’m knitting. And a knitting I shall go right now.

6 thoughts on “OTN – On the Needles

  1. I can’t wait to see how your Helena turns out. It was the one pattern that stood out for me on Knitty this time around. I get nervous when I have too many WIPs…

  2. shooooo, you just have so much going on all the time! i so admire that. maybe you’ll inspire me to get back into my knitting projects soon. i mentioned taking my sewing machine on vacation with us in a few weeks and ian was like “why’d you want to go and do that?” he thinks it isn’t necessary. the one year i took it, i actually never really used it. so, he’s making sense, but i may be much more included to use it this year. if only i had a small, lightweight portable one, maybe he’d go for it. after all, he’ll be the one toting it in and out of the condo and the car!

  3. Hee hee. I almost can’t wait for autumn too! Love the new knits 🙂

    I totally love test knitting too. Can’t wait to hear more about yours. Oh and if you ever get to the point where you want/need a test knitter or two, I’m there! Just let me know – I’d love to help you get your knits out into the world 🙂

Leave a Reply

