What a Wonderful Day

More like weekend. It doesn’t happen too often that things run so smoothly. In fact, I can’t remember a time when we had such a pleasant weekend. All weekend.

I know I haven’t been posting much and I do apologize. My insomnia keeps me up late. In fact it’s 1:47 a.m. Monday morning. I have spent the last 4 hours knitting and sewing. I can only give you a glimpse into my chaos as none of my journeys have come to an end. Soon. And then onto something bigger and better perhaps?

The start of the weekend began with our monthly SnB at the LYS. I had a chance to spend a few extra hours there. Luckily, (and unfortunately), I realized that the short rows of my Cobblestone sweater were not correct. Somehow I mismarked the start of the shoulders evenly. I ended up with short rows on the front of one sleeve and on the back of the opposite sleeve. I didn’t notice until I was about 5″ into the yoke. I stewed for about an hour trying to figure how I could fix this. And why? A “why” that never will have a definite answer.

So now I’m back on the right path. I don’t get much stitching done at our monthly meets. Mainly it’s a night that we can meet, eat, talk, (this particular night we talked about hybrid cars, the price of produce, mystery novels, etc). Nevertheless, I frogged and was able to restart the sweater and get back on course. I have been trekking along and even Dalton seems to approve of the new and improved, (and correct), Cobblestone:

I wouldn’t trust anyone more with the care of a handknit sweater. Honestly.

Saturday we didn’t do much of anything. I ran around running errands: groceries, fabric shop, post office, etc. (Not that I needed to go to the fabric shop, but I’d be pining for this Moda fabric and I knew I had to make a quilt out of it.) Don’t you agree?

Very summer-ish. I started the cutting and sewing strips last night, only to realize, (somehow = user error), I cut one fabric at 2 3/4″ instead of at 3″. So a good part of today I went and fixed my mistake. The top is actually done now but for the borders. I hadn’t chosen my borders yet because I didn’t know if I wanted to use a pattern or if I wanted to use a solid. We shall see. I’m happy to say though that I retained all the techniques that this class has taught me. Tomorrow I will be working on my quilt, (not this one). We still have basting and binding to do. And some machine quilting. I am especially excited, (and yet anxious), about the quilting part. Due in part to the fact that I have no idea what I’m doing. And the other part is that I finally got my new sewing machine. I waited all, (nearly), day for the UPS man to arrive. Finally around 4 p.m. he called us saying he didn’t have our apartment number. 102!!! I shouted. I literally ran outside to see that beautiful, big, brown truck stopping at the curb. I clapped, I jumped and I yelled “Thank you”. I immediately set up the machine and read the manual. Nothing could stop me! I love my new machine. I love that I got a great deal on it. The shop we ordered from online has a low price guarantee. I had found it cheaper on another site, so they offered me an $11 discount with free shipping. She sews like a dream. There are so many functions that I don’t even know where I will start. The straight stitch works great. I can’t wait to try some of the embroidery features.

Anyway, enough of my sewing machine love. Needless to say that I know I will sew more often and it’s a good feeling. So Shawn did good with this gift. He also took me to the bead shop where I will be making this Icy Petals Bracelet the last weekend of May. He bought the crystals and pearls that I needed. Such a sweetheart isn’t he? Again, something else to be excited about. Spring has been bringing us lots of good things. Maybe it’s the weather. Maybe it’s the air?

Today, being Mother’s Day was quite special as well. It’s not just about mothers either, just ask Amber. I think she summed up honoring mothers quite well. I am sure there are many people out there who have “adoptive” parents. The ones who take you in and make you feel like you are a part of their family. I am lucky to have someone like that. And I am happy that there is a day to honor her. I am happy that my children will honor me, (I’m hoping my son will do that a little more). Even if it’s a made up holiday created by the card and candy companies, it’s a good day in my book.

Shawn let me sleep in for starters. Yay! Then he made me breakfast. Double yay! Though, I had to break out the waffle iron that my grandmother bought me when I was 8 years old. What she was thinking at the time I don’t know? Maybe that I was a mature little cook. I immediately opened the package and went to work – overflowing the iron and never trying to make waffles until today. I think they came out swell:

Yup, that’s Mickey.

After breakfast we hung out at home for a while and then went to dinner. At Buca di Beppo. Yum-O. We had a delicious dinner. Pan fried Mozzarella for an appetizer. Gnocchi and a 9 layer lasagna for the main course. And then a chocolate Vesuvio. I came home with my jeans unbuttoned. It really is that good.

And now? Well now it’s 2:14 a.m. and I’m thinking it would be a good time to try and get a little bit of sleep. My plans for tomorrow are quite simple: I’ll go to my final quilting class around 12:30 and finish around 3:30. Then I’ll be on my way to the knit shop until about 5:30. Good thing for babysitters. Good thing for family. Good thing for wonderful weekends. I hope you all had a great weekend and I promise I will sit on my hiney and catch up on blogs. I know I have a lot of wonderful things to read this week. Happy Mothers Day!

5 thoughts on “What a Wonderful Day

  1. I really love your quilt. It is very summer…and I can’t wait for summer!!! Don’t forget to take a picture when you will finish it. So pretty! Take care xox

  2. Hi AJ, Carina here! I sure envy you for being able to sew such a lovely quilt and the cat is adorable, so cute. As far as my two wild, four legged ones (cats) I wouldn’t trust them with anything but my unconditional love…keep your paws away from my stash, you hear?! Anyway, just wanted you to know that I’ve created a new blog, the old one has gone down the drains! Love, Carina!

  3. I just adore the colors in that quilt. It make me wish I could sew…that I had the patience to try. Hope you post a picture of it finished!

  4. i remember those dreadful short rows very unfondly. hope you get it figured out. those short rows… a certain kind of torture for sure.

    love your quilt top! it’s lovely. i’m so glad you sewing machine arrived, too! how exciting. can’t wait to see the finished quilt. and you’re already working on another?

Leave a Reply

