A Trip to the Zoo

I want to say that I’m very happy that the Los Angeles Zoo has many visitors and seems to be making a lot more money through admissions and food sales, (those $8 fruit bowls ought to be helping). But I’m a bit disappointed, not by the zoo but by the people who visit. You know, those people who rather than pack up a stroller and actually have their children sitting in it rather than letting their children run around and hit the ancient tortoise on the head? Yeah, them. I don’t get it. I also don’t get the parents who let their children shove and push other kids just so they can see the sleeping wolf hidden in his cave. Yeah, them too. Or how about the parents who try to ease their way in front of the line because they think their kids are hungrier than the other kids who have been waiting 20 minutes to get some chicken strips with french fries.

Yeah. It disappoints me that there are people out there who just don’t care. And they obviously aren’t teaching their own children to care. (Mind you, I am in no way saying I’m a Mary Poppins kind of mother. But I will say that if Jem acted that way, you’d hear me saying something about it rather than laughing it off and thinking “lil Jimmy is just so cute when he runs in front of people causing them to drop their tray of $50 crappy food on the floor”.)

But the animals! The animals are what I go for and they definitely don’t disappoint.

meerkat.jpg
Little Meerkat pondering.

sealion3.jpg
Sea Lion taking a quick breather.

gorilla4.jpg
The man of the family.

snowleopard.jpg

Pretty Snow Leopard. He was napping and came out just in time. (I really wish I could have a had a shot without the cage wires, unfortunately he’s completely caged in. I can only assume he’s a sly little escape artist because not even the wolves, tigers or lions are completely enclosed.)

sealion.jpg

A California Sea Lion after getting a little fat off of fresh fish.

 

7 thoughts on “A Trip to the Zoo

  1. Great photos!!

    And I’m *so* with you on rude people allowing their kids to be rude as well. One of my biggest pet peeves ever. Hope your trip was still great despite that though πŸ™‚

  2. I love the zoo with kids. I miss that with the girls. I’m glad that you are trying to correct the evils that we seem to have passed on by letting kids be so rude and not under control. And you cannot be Mary Poppins anyway….I took that title years ago πŸ˜‰

  3. A.J.! I found you again! I got caught up on your life with your blog today. Been thinking about you. Tried to email you a while ago and it got returned-glad to be in touch again.

Leave a Reply

