Rainy Days

It’s true, it does rain here in Southern California. Oh, maybe 5 days out of the year! (The past two years we have had a bit of a drought issue. Rain has been hard to come by.) It’s been nice. I don’t mind driving in it, although I don’t think Californians really know to drive let alone in the rain. (I’m exempt because I’m from Chicago.)

With rain comes craftiness. And other stuff. I guess I’ll start with the bad. First off, I will once again be having surgery. Next week, in fact. I have a recurring cyst that isn’t in a very nice place. The fact that it’s come back three times since the first time, during pregnancy, was enough for my OB to say I need to have surgery. It’s a small outpatient surgery. Nevertheless, the anxiety is already setting in my tummy. It will take place on Thursday afternoon, so I will be MIA. (Maybe, I can only assume that with boredom I will want to get my ass off the couch and read blogs.)

We’ve also had a bit of a financial rough patch. I can only say that’s it has somewhat been worked out, but that too has put me in a bit of a funk. It’s just an added stress that I really don’t need, you know? I mean who needs stress?

And last, I had to frog Hush three times. And then I started Rowan’s “Moonshine”, but doing an entire moss stitch sweater on 6’s isn’t very appealing. Especially after realizing today that the stitches are way too loose on 6’s. And who wants to knit row after row of moss stitch on 4’s? Yeah, um, not me.

So onto the good news, I have been doing a little sewing here and there, though I can only show you one of two projects right now, (I’ll take pix tomorrow of the second project):

valentinesdotee.jpg

This here is a Dotee doll. It’s kind of the new craze. You can check out a whole lot more on Flickr. They have tons! Anyway, this little sweet pea is going to a very good home because of a very fun swap I joined. (I know I said I wouldn’t join swaps, but I meant more along the lines of knitting/yarn/secret pal swaps. I joined a couple of writing/pen pal and sewing swaps on Swap Bot.) Anywoo, she will be accompanied by Project #2 and a special card.

I really love her cheeks:

valentinesdotee2.jpg

Amidst the rain and the crafty chaos, (you should see my house, OMG!!!), I have been trying to relax. It’s kind of hard when there’s so much to do. I’d like to say that I have been knitting a lot. But I feel like I’ve been frogging more than anything else. And I still need to start my Secret of the Stole 2. So I think I’m going to put the Rowan book away. And I’ll put the Blue SkyAlpacas Silk/Wool away. For a while at least. It’s not like I don’t have other stuff to do, you know?

Busy, busy, busy. But you know who isn’t busy?

catnap.jpg

 

Dalton. Yeah. He hasn’t been busy at all lately. He had his 8th birthday on Monday and I think he’s finally settling in. I wish I could just curl up on a perch and have no worries! Spoiled brat!

9 thoughts on “Rainy Days

  1. Love the picture of Dalton. I want to come back as a cat if I can.

    I love the doll. I agree with LizzeK8. Please tell us more about them.

    Good luck with the procedure next week. It will be fine! Keep us posted when you can.

  2. I’m so sorry for all your stress šŸ˜¦ I hope your procedure goes well and everything gets fixed for you!

    I know what you mean – I have had zero time lately for knitting or really *anything* I want to do that isn’t a chore of some kind. I totally feel your pain.

    And your dolly is *adorable*! I’m going to have to check that dotee doll thing out šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

