Happy New Years

In some parts of the world they are ringing in the New Year but here in So Cal we are 10 hours away from the beginning of a new year. I anticipate the new year. I welcome it’s newness. I welcome the resolutions. I welcome a fresh start.

I even welcome crossing over some of my projects that I started in my haste to cast on a new yarn. I decided to make Shawn a pair of socks for his birthday with the Malabrigo he bought me for Christmas. I’m making it up as I go along. I’m enjoying using a new yarn. I’m enjoying each stitch. I think of when he will put these socks on to ward off the nip in the air this winter. How they will comfort him. How they will remind him that someone cares so much for him. As of today, I have 28 days to finish. It shouldn’t be a problem but I find that my knitting has dwindled a bit with the holidays.

I decided on a twisted rib for the cuff, much more clean and elastic in my opinion. The rest will be a garter stitch rib found in a stitch dictionary.

shawnsecretsocks

As for my resolutions, well they are simple.

1. My goal is to read 48 books this year.

2. Take formal sewing classes, (this starts next Tuesday).

3. Finish the confounded Vogue Cable Tunic from 2005.

4. Knit more teddy bears for the Mother Bear Project.

5. Get back to exercising 3-4 times a week.

6. Join the Santa Clarita Quilter’s Guild.

7. Live simple.

I hope everyone has a happy and safe New Years! Cheers.

6 thoughts on “Happy New Years

  1. mmm… mmmalabrigo sock! i’ve got some marinating in my stash… i can’t wait to cast on sometime in january.

    i don’t know how i feel about resolutions anymore. i used to be really gung-ho about the typical “more exercise, more culture, some more exercise” resolutions; this year, i’m a bit more morose, maybe. your last resolution, to live simple, is really the only thing i’m considering.

    thanks for stopping by my blog. i’m so glad you did, as now i’ve found yours! happy new year.

  2. Great list of resolutions for the year. 48 books sounds great, so do the formal sewing lessons. I can’t wait to see all the beautiful things you create. May 2009 be full of wonderful, great, happy moments for you.

    Holli

    PS thanks for your comment on my best books of 2008 post – and for entering the giveaway. I’ve added your current read to my list of must-reads. xoxo

Leave a Reply

